Garden, Before and After 18-Aug-2011

Today’s Harvest:

  • Pennyslvania Peaches

Before:

After, option 1: (two peaches, three celery stalks, juice of 1/2 lemon, juiced)

After, option 2: (peach pie: butter crust, 6 peaches,  18 packets stevia, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/8 tsp freshly ground nutmeg, 1/4 tsp powdered ginger, 2 Tbsp pellets unsalted butter tossed with 1/4 C flour)

Full disclosure: I have a friend who is diabetic.  Full disclosure: I have no experience cooking without sugar (nor have I ever made it a priority).  Having said that, I’m a fan of stevia, the super-intensive plant-extract sweetener, and I’m nothing if not flexible (and a bit adventurous).

So, I made a test pie the way I would if were using sugar, altering the sweetening by 75% to compensate for the stevia, and intentionally allowing the focus to be only the prominence of the highest quality peaches.  Then, the taste test.  (Not only is sugar a sweetener, it’s a flavor enhancer and I needed to understand how/if stevia performed this function.)  I found that, while there was a sense of sweetness, the resultant flavor of the pie lacked the depth I was looking for.  So, I threw the test pie out and made another, this time using the ingredients listed above.  The result: a juicy, tender, flavorful pie, the spice blend providing the foundation to uplift the total taste experience.

Full disclosure:  This photo is not the pie; it’s a peach tart with custard I made earlier.  (It’s peach season, after all.)  We ate the pie (with whipped heavy cream) too quickly to photograph it.  Smile.

This entry was posted in Before and After and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

