Magic Mushrooms, Metaphorically Speaking

Day 7

Success.  This may appear to be the conclusion of the mushroom growing project; however, such is not the case.  The added bonus is that if I allow the block to rest with minor daily spritzing to keep it moist, I can grow another crop in two weeks using the same technique I’m now confident about.

In the Hyde Park market, shitake are $16/pound.  I now have a harvest of just under 1.5 pounds.  They’re very supple and tender, unusually so, and yet retain a firm quality when sauteed.  Actually, I’m told I may have another couple of harvests as the block continues to support the growth of new crops.  The numbers will diminish; however, I should expect to engage several 7-day re-growths with intermittent 2-week rests, over the course of 10 weeks.

So, the Sheltowee Mushroom Farm will offer miniature mushroom blocks at super-nominal prices that will be available in Dec for holiday gift-giving.  I plan to order several myself, and want to encourage others to do the same.

Right behind my making holiday donations to orgs of my gift-recipients’ choices in lieu of gift-giving, is my desire to promote the fun and education of growimg high quality food products at home.  This gift qualifies.  Follow me to Sheltowee on Facebook to place an order.

This entry was posted in Mushrooms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Magic Mushrooms, Metaphorically Speaking

  1. Billy Webb says:

    Great job. I was taking my lunch break, now back to mushroom work. Multiply this adventure by 400 and add in Oyster Mushrooms and you get the 24/7/365 job of a mushroom farmer.

Leave a Reply

