In My Kitchen, a Note to Self: Live What You Teach

I had an opportunity last evening to employ the skill I love to remind others we all have: be creative with the ingredients you have on hand.

Although I would be not be able to attend a pre-Thanksgiving thanksgiving event with my peers today due to a standing bi-weekly video conference, I wanted to contribute food for the event.  In effect, I’d be there in essence.  The desire to contribute received greater impetus when an agent co-worker sent an email saying, “Are you cooking anything for tomorrow? I need to use my calories wisely!”

Having done no pre-planning, the humor in the question was enough to move me forward into being creative with what I could find in the frig.  It was 8:00 pm.

I had what we all have… golden potatoes, onions, fresh broccoli, a couple of hunks of great cheese and green peppers I had previously roasted and preserved in oil (you have that in your pantry, yes?)

Enter the idea of an amended potato torte.  I say amended because I’ve made a much more labor-intensive version of this dish for many, many years.  Total prep and cooking time for that dish was about 3 hours.  Had neither the time nor the patience.  So I sliced the unpeeled potatoes in the Cuisinart, thin-sliced the onion, peeled the broccoli stalk and sliced it in the Cuisinart (reserved the florets for another time), shredded a little Parmigiano Reggiano and Locatelli Romano cheese, and pre-heated the oven to 400.

I beat two whole (farm) eggs and one yolk with some cream, and mixed in the potatoes to coat.  I lightly oiled a loaf pan and began layering potatoes and onions with grinds of pepper and herbed salt, a layer of roasted peppers and a light layer of cheese. Having zapped the sliced broccoli in the microwave for two minutes, I layered again… potatoes, onions, seasoning, broccoli, cheese, finishing with a top layer of potatoes and a bit more cheese.  I poured the balance of the egg-cream mixture on top, adding a bit more cream.

The dish baked for 30 minutes at 400, then I reduced the temp to 375 for another 15 minutes.  Test for doneness with a cake tester inserted through the potatoes.  If it inserts and removes easily, the dish is done.  I refrigerated the torte overnight and it sliced easily this morning.

Beginning to end, it was a 20-minute prep a 45-minute bake time.

Subtle, earthy flavors.  Easy, easy, easy.

How creative can you be with what’s in your frig and pantry when the need arises?

This entry was posted in In My Kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In My Kitchen, a Note to Self: Live What You Teach

  1. Debi says:

    Amazing and inspiring!

Leave a Reply

