The Splendid Table Knows a Great Idea When it Hears One

Bless her heart.  Lynne Rossetto Kasper followed my lead on root cellaring on her Sun American Public Media show on WVXU, The Splendid Table.

OK, OK, I’m spinning webs, and I’m in no way flattering myself into thinking Lynne’s conversation about root cellaring was anything but a shooting star that intersected for a nanosecond with my root vegetable post of a couple of days ago.

I actually met Lynne a couple of years ago when she came to Cincinnati to speak about the Emilia-Romagna region in Italy which, by the way, was an astonishing lecture.  Lynne possesses a wonderful (and constantly broadening) synthesis of knowledge of Italian culture, food and tradition that continues to blow me away.  I’m rambling…

Focus.  Lynne reco’d a super-cool book called “The Complete Root Cellar Book” by Steve Maxwell that includes building plans and how-to’s for properly storing those fab winter vegetables I’m so in love with.

I’ll admit this book is a jump-in-with-both-feet effort, but this kind of project really revs my interest in challenging myself to see how successful I can be in storing great food items.  Perhaps I’ll grab the book and look into it as a project for the next growing season.

Anyway, here’s a snippet of a review: “Steve’s book was easy to understand, there were loads of plans, illustrations, instructions – and even recipes that we could use after storing foods in the root cellar! And, let me tell you – these recipe are divine!  This is the best thing we’ve done for ourselves and our kids – I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know where their foods come from, who wants to eat locally, and who wants to keep food around longer than it would just sitting in the fridge! Go buy it now!  Your family will love you for it.”

I’m pretty sure I just talked myself into it.

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

