The Gift That Keeps on Giving

I sometimes feel I must be the reincarnation of my grandmother who lived through the Depression, so fond am I of making creative use of the great quality items that I buy.  Bless her heart, she re-used plastic bags and aluminum foil, and only turned a light on in the area of the home she was using.  As I type, I realize that my analogy is over-stated, as those habits are clearly not mine.

Nonetheless, I believe you get what you pay for.  I just like to make the best use of what I pay for while always maintaining quality.  So, my Tetrazzini post on Fri alluded to one more use of that glorious capon.  What could it be?

Simmer the carcass in a medium stock pot of cold water, and skim off the small amount of scum that arises.  Rough-chop 2 onions, 3 peeled carrots and 3 stalks of celery.  Simmer uncovered for three hours.  Strain broth into a tall metal container, cool immediately in a bain marie (cold water bath), and refrigerate overnight.  In the morning, simply lift off the fat that surfaces.

Chicken broth.  It will absolutely transform a winter soup or a give a risotto indescribable depth.

So from an organic capon, we created a dinner with roasted vegetables, we gifted a friend’s family with Chicken Tetrazzini, and we have a warm, wonderful broth as the foundation for another meal.

Even my grandmother would be impressed.

This entry was posted in Basic Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

