Enter the Pie Lady

I am nothing if not a pie lady.

I need no excuse to bake.  Baking, mostly European desserts… buttercream tortes, pate a choux… was the lure that reeled me into cooking in my early 20s.  My interests broadened from that point on.

So while I love going full throttle into desserts that require patience, a good eye and a skillful touch, there is a part of my culinary persona that will always be a pie lady.  So satisfying, so simply rich, so holiday-ish.  Today, it was blueberry.

The purpose of this post is, in as few words as possible, to again announce that eating very well is easy.  Here’s proof.

A simple butter dough made in less than five minutes in the Cuisinart.

Crust rolled and easily fitted into a deep-dish pan.

A second crust cut into strips for lattice-work.

Ready for the oven.

Ready for a second piece.

If you celebrate Christmas, I hope your day was merry.

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

