I Dare You to Top That as a Sun Morning

I have a Camerons stove-top smoker and a side of salmon, and I’m anxious to begin the dance of smoking food indoors.  Virgil’s Cafe in Bellevue gave me a perfect segue at brunch this morning to gain insight into how they smoke salmon.  I like free professional advice, and I’m not afraid to ask.

IMG_5616

Virgil’s is widely known for its creative Sun brunch, and reservations are required as its a small-seat establishment.  I was a party of one, my Chicago brunch friend having departed to grab an early flight home.  Undeterred, and happily seated at my table by the front window with a great cup of coffee in hand, I began the delicate dance of probing for advice.  Virgil’s kindly responded.  Turns out, they use hickory to smoke, and a salt, pepper and sugar rub.  Good enough.

IMG_5620

This morning, my version of living with one foot in each of two worlds (a common analogy for me) was to read Peter Diamandis’ recent book, Abundance.  One foot in the science and creativity of cooking; the other foot in the science, creativity and innovation of everything else.  Peter is widely known as the creator of the X-Prize and a co-founder of Singularlity University.

So, Peter enlightened me about the planet’s “central nervous system”, the “backbone of the Internet of things… thermometers, cars, light switches… all connected through a gargantuan network of sensors, each with its own IP address.”  “Suddenly Google can help you find your car keys.  Stolen property becomes a thing of the past.”  He went on to discuss the grand and now common uses of artificial intelligence (AI), including the automatic braking or lane guidance of automobiles, among others.  Studying science and creativity while eating science and creativity.

Feeling fully (de)caffeinated and inspired that I can hold up my end of the dance with the smoker, off I went on one more scientific excursion:  to see the moon rock.  Donated by Neil Armstrong, the Natural History and Science Museum at the Museum Center has one of the few specimens of moon rock from the Apollo 11 mission.  The sample is 1/100th of the parent sample rock, and is 3.7 billion years old.  The sample “is a medium light grey, fine grained basalt that was collected around 15-30 feet from the Apollo 11 Lunar Module, and had been sitting undisturbed on the surface of the moon for 300 million years.”

IMG_5625

Science and creativity.  I dare you to top that as a Sun morning.

This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Dare You to Top That as a Sun Morning

  1. Tachete says:

    Sorry I missed a wonderful sunday excursion, your company and the moon rock!

Leave a Reply

